Thread: Blows oil out tailpipe

cvair1

Blows oil out tailpipe

Help! My 1977"S" is blowing oil out the exhaust and emptying the tank into the crankcase. I cleaned the screen and replaced the filter. This occurred suddenly and catastrophically. Glad I was not standing directly behind the tail pipe. Any thoughts?

pwd72s
    Only a couple: 1. This does NOT sound good. 2. Man, I'm glad it's not my car doing this.

cvair1
    I agree. This does not sound good. Had to wipe the oil off the garage door after I had the brains to shut the door. Got oil all over the '55 Chrysler I am in the process of painting. I have looked at the "sump" circuit on this devil hoping to find a blockage. Is it possible to lose the suction side of the pump and still maintain the pressure side? Sorry if this sounds silly to the imformed as I have little experience with this engine.

pwd72s
    Sorry I came off so flippant. Really, if it was me? I'd have the car flatbed towed to the nearest mechanic I trusted...(an oxymoron?), get a diagnosis, make decisions from there.

cvair1
    Your analysis was taken at face value. Quite similar to my take on the situation. Appointment made at "trusted" mechanic. My uneducated guess is pump(drawing side) related. Gawdamighty! Engine rebuild time? Hope not as I JUST purchased this thing! Ran fine at try out time. Motor Meister? Hope to hear from the folks here that there is something I am missing that is "typical" to this situation. My understanding is that crankcase(ideally) holds about 1 qt. of oil. Rest of oil is circulating, or in tank. It appears that my crankcase is drowning in oil, which probably bathes cylinders in oil which finds its way out! Any other path to the exhaust?(in liquid form by the quart!) Many thanks for your help, pwd. By the way, I believe it was you who sent me the photocopy of MFI info for my 69S. Great help

cvair1
    My mistake, it was pzaviglia? who helped with the MFI. Thanks for the help anyway. Happy motoring!

Roland Kunz