Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: "The Lavender car"

"The Lavender car"

Hi guys!
    I have been promising to start a proper thread about this car for a couple years now, but excuse myself all the time that I need a little more time to investigate, find more pics, write something in ESSES first etc etc, but now I realize I will never start a thread if I continue my "preparations" at this (slow) pace. I figured out my S-Reg post #911 should be better than average and after all this is the story about a guy & his car on a journey and not about a perfect finished project, so finally here we go!

The 6. May 1997 this tired old 67S cleared customs in Norway and I believe this picture was taken the same day when the first Norwegian caretaker opened the container at the harbor. I´m grateful the other car strapped to the roof did not fall down during the voyage over the Atlantic!

I have two more pics that show what it looked like when it arrived. Hopefully one day someone will see these pics and remember it because I have not been able to find any US-history so far. All I know is that it was sold new in California and probably brought to Norway from Texas.

My best chance for someone to remember this car is the unusual Lavender VW-color.

Why did the original owner choose this color?? Maybe he had previously owned a Lavender Beetle or Karmann Ghia and decided it would look great on his new Porsche?? I think he made a good choice!!

This is approx what it looks like today. I have not been able to find a beetle/Ghia to check if the color is an exact match but believe it is pretty close. It had already been partially resprayed before it came to Norway, but it seems to me that the US-paint job was a bit too "Gulf". I have found some small areas with what I believe is original paint, but more on that later.

Numbers and options:
    VIN: 308022S
    Engine: 961867
    Gearbox: 104846
    (engine and trans original to the car)
    Color: Lavender: VW-L 397