Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie buys crappy old porsche - now what?

Newbie buys crappy old porsche - now what?

Hello,
    I am sure this is old hat to many of you. I'm interested in learning about early 911 cars with an eye to eventually repairing my 1970 enough so that it might be driven. I am new to porsches but have owned a number of older (mostly much older than this one) autos - (mostly commercial and utility types (4wd, trucks, buses etc) My car is generally poor and suffered from corrosion, neglect, thieves/vandals and a number of poor quality previous owner upgrades and repairs. I purchased it out of a horse pasture where it sat unloved for many years. I have had some "local porsche guys" look at it and most everyone tells me to part it out and put the money towards a better car. I am resisting the temptation to do that and telling myself it is repairable and I will learn more by fixing it.

The Car
    -1970 911T targa

The good
    -the car was inexpensive
    -appears to have a 911/02 "s" motor (also 1970) which turns over and does not have any obvious damage and upgraded chain tensioners - it can probably be made to run.
    -has fuch deep 6 heart wheels which appear to be a matched set (all 1970)
    -rolls steers stops (brakes do work amazingly) and the car is MOSTLY complete
    -911/01 transmission (1970)

The bad
    -rust in the rockers (inner and outer), drivers footwell area, bottom of the targa bar where it joins the body and various small flanges and supports
    -front torsion bar mounting is soft and the area between the two batteries is previously repaired in a less then ideal manner
    -damage to the door and fender where it appears the door was folded back against the body
    -the entire car is covered with avery thin layer of bondo (or a very thick layer of paint?)
    -seats steering wheel and a few other non original items have been fitted