Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recaro Ideal S seats question

Question Recaro Ideal S seats question

Greetings, All - I am a very new member, but no stranger to vintage Porsches; although currently without.

The other day, I purchased a 1973 VW Thing (my fourth) and installed are a set of (assumed) Recaro Ideal-S seats, sans headrests. To preface, I'm no expert in seats, so I brought the car by EASY in Emeryville on my way home. It's the opinion of the guys there that these seats are highly sought after, especially because they have the sliders and the operable bases. A member on thesamba.com privately has offered me 4600.00 plus shipping to Europe, just because I posted a photo of the car and only mentioned "some period-correct recaro seats" in the message. This offer triggered me to think these were possibly quite rare.

Now, I don't know if any modifications were made to the actual seat to fit in the THING, but it appears that the sliders are bolted to a custom square-stock frame, which in turn is bolted to the floor of the car. I'm traveling and won't be able to remove them until next week to investigate further.

They are not currently being offered for sale - I'm on a fact-finding mission. Is anyone able to shed some light on the seats, their scarcity, and what to look for in terms of completeness / originality? They are sure comfortable!

Please see photos, and thanks in advance for the generosity of information.

Cheers,
    Greg Fulcher in Orinda, CA

Name:  IMG_1700.jpg
Views: 504
Size:  139.9 KBName:  IMG_1449.jpg
Views: 520
Size:  151.5 KBName:  IMG_1444.jpg
Views: 539
Size:  121.6 KBName:  IMG_1704.jpg
Views: 471
Size:  92.4 KB
    Last edited by Ten13; 11-09-2017 at 01:19 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Ten13 View Post
    A member on thesamba.com privately has offered me 4600.00 plus shipping to Europe, just because I posted a photo of the car and only mentioned "some period-correct recaro seats" in the message.