Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: $1K 68 Sportomatic

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

$1K 68 Sportomatic

I'd like to introduce myself, I'm a high school teacher of 27 years in Northern Virginia. I have always loved the 911 but being a teacher they were our of my grasp. I've been a builder of old Jeeps for a long time and recently started with MG's.

I acquired this 1968 Sportomatic a few weeks ago and her is how it happened.

This started Feb 11, 2019
    I was not there when this all went down. All done by my Fiance = Awesome Girl.
    So my fiance and i just bought a new house. She wanted a whole house generator so I was seeking bids for it. I picked a company and when she met to finalize the deal with the owner of the company they got to talking about what i did. She told him about all the old jeeps and an MG I built. She told him I did all the work myself and really enjoyed it.
    He said he has an old car that his wife is nagging him to get out of the yard. He needs to make room for a boat and an old Ford Bronco.

She was curious and asked what it was. He said an old rusty 911S. WHAT? how much?
    she was thinking he was going to say $20K or something out of our budget.
    It has been in the family for a 40 years or so and he wanted it taken car of and not parted out.
    She agreed we would do our best to get it back on the road again. He liked that idea.

He said how about $1K? What? Deal!! Ill take it.
    He asked "don't you want to see it first" Nope! I'll write you a check or cash tonight. He can pick it up tomorrow. She was thinking what a great Valentines gift.