Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Muffler experience

Muffler experience

Instead of hijacking someone else's thread (http://www.early911sregistry.org/for...be-saved/page4) I realized it would be better to ask this in a new topic. I've just recently started driving my new 1972 2.4 T/E. It was first fitted with a stainless steel Dansk, but I replaced it with a steel Dansk because I didn't like the sound much. The steel muffler is a little quieter but not great. Fortunately I learnt from Noah's thread that there are better mufflers like the original Leistritz ones (as you can see I'm quite new to this).

I would really like to pick up an original Leistritz in good state but it looks like one with good internals will be very hard to find. What are good alternatives? From searching the forum, I found that Monty might be OK and another option is Porsche's classic muffler. Both are around $800-1000. What are everyone's experiences with these or other new mufflers?

Like Noah I'm looking for a quiet and mellow, warm sound. Not loud and harsh like the Dansk mufflers.

Thanks in advance!

I can't speak for the Leistritz on a 911 (although I loved the Leistritz Sportsound on my Mk1 Scirocco years ago), but am interested in this topic as well.

I also have '72 2.4 T/E, mine is currently equipped with a very OE-looking Bischoff. Definitely has a nice, low rumble at idle. I suppose it could stand to be a bit quieter at cruise speed, but my wife and I can chat inside the car easily while at highway speeds.

Of course, like the Leistritz, I have no idea where you could find a new (or even just nice) Bischoff.
    - Arne
    Current - 2018 718 Cayman, Rhodium Silver, PDK

Sold - 1972 911T coupe, Silver Metallic; 1984 911 Carrera coupe, Chiffon white; 1973 914 2.0, Saturn Yellow; 1984 944, Silver Metallic

Member #226 R Gruppe Life Member #147