Thread: gas pedal stuck half way

gas pedal stuck half way

Hi friends,
    Today I wanted to have a run with my 67s , After a about half a mile my gas pedal got stuck half way down and would not be fully released .
    This made me switch engine off immediately and got the car towed back to the garage where she now lies.
    I am new to this car any ideas ???
    I know it will go to the mechanic , but just until I wait for appointment , anything I can have a good look at ???

Thanks
    PORSCHE 911S '66

my cars mostly got stuck down by the gas pedal.
    the linkage would run into the tunnel sheet metal.
    (the opening that is somewhat a triangle and a fold in the metal)

they also get stuck if the rubbery/plastic hand throttle connector piece rots out and flops out of place.
    also the front pedal rust out often.
    also, the wood pedal board can shift out of place and interfere with the pedal and ball snap bar.
    also there is linkage and levers under the car. and a problematic anti-vibration connector, they easily break. if not renewed.

it is really only best to go from the front to the rear...the entire system, including the carb levers.

Current long term ownership: 63 Cab, 71 911, 74 914

Quote Originally Posted by Scott A View Post
    my cars mostly got stuck down by the gas pedal.
    the linkage would run into the tunnel sheet metal.
    (the opening that is somewhat a triangle and a fold in the metal)

they also get stuck if the rubbery/plastic hand throttle connector piece rots out and flops out of place.
    also the front pedal rust out often.
    also, the wood pedal board can shift out of place and interfere with the pedal and ball snap bar.
    also there is linkage and levers under the car. and a problematic anti-vibration connector, they easily break. if not renewed.

it is really only best to go from the front to the rear...the entire system, including the carb levers.