Thread: New- need to learn valuations, can you comment on these adds

New- need to learn valuations, can you comment on these adds

Hi..

I am a newbie here. I love the early 911/912 901 body style, and I
    am looking at various cars FS locally. I have read in Excellence and
    elsewhere that these early cars are going up in value bigtime. Is all
    the hype true? Or is this something that people are just saying and
    thus it becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy.

I also see cars advertised locally that are nice and don't command
    too much, nice 911s and 912s with decent (not concours) restorations
    for around 10-12k. What do you make of the valuation of these cars?

Would something like this be a better car to buy now than a 74-77
    or SC since it has more of a chance to go up while the other cars
    have yet to bottom out?

For example these 2 cars look clean and reasonably priced...

http://www.craigslist.org/sfc/car/129237750.html
    (click above to see the pic but posting the text here for archival purposes)
    "Matching numbers black on black 1971 Porsche 911T Targa for sale. 20K miles on rebuilt original engine with good compression and nice original interior. Original radio, stock zenith carbs and nice original Fuchs alloys. S trim package, turbo valve covers, stainless steel muffler and heat exchangers, turbo tie rod upgrade, original tool kit etc. Has some minor surface rust at bottom edge of rear windshield, but overall paint is in very good condition. Extra parts, including front bumper guards and deco trim.
    $12,900 obo or trade. Email with questions or call 415-205-0716."

http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/car/128188349.html
    "Classic 1969 PORSCHE 911 T Coupe.
    Nice straght and solid early 911. Dry California car with an excellent body and floor pan. Mileage 130,500. Factory alloy wheels with Pirelli P6000's. Pioneer stereo. Paint is sun-faded, and needs to be redone.