Thread: Removing handbrake assembly

Removing handbrake assembly

I am removing the hand break assembly in order to repair the hand throttle. I have removed the tree screws that hold the assembly, but there is not enough space to work underneath the assembly. I removed the two nuts that hold the heater lever and the hand throttle and managed to get the thru bolt out. Then I got the hand throttle lever out. The problem is that the hand break and the plate it is attached to still make it difficult to get underneath it to unhook the hand break cables from the assembly. I have never done this before so I am not sure how they are connected. The heater lever is also still attached to the wire but I screwed of the knob, so that when the hand break comes loose the lever will clear thru the hand break plate.

My trouble is to disconnect the break cables. Any tips or pictures?

(I tried to search here and pelican but did not find what I need)

John
    Early 911S Registry #931
    --------------------------------
    1971 911 2.2S Coupe Albert Blue
    1971 911 2.2T Coupe Tangerine
    2005 997 C2S Coupe special 1965 slate grey
    1978 911 3.0 SC Targa Silver w/chrome trim

Hi John,

You need to disconnect the H/brake to be able to give your self enough space. Just get you hand in there and pry the clip off the h/brake compensating piece. It's the same as the clutch set up, in case you are familiar with those.

Alan

Here is a pic, I have circxuled the item you need to push open and pry out.

John,
    I did this last month with out removing the cables but worked the hand brake set up out of it's mounts. I did however remove the drivers seat but the repair was pretty straight forward. I did go out and buy a magnet assuming I would drop something down the tunnel. Put a rag under the setup as you take the small "C" clip off to slide the new plastic throttle piece on.
    Nice to have that hand throttle working properly again.

Daron

Hey John;