Thread: rain drops keep falling on my head!

rain drops keep falling on my head!

Since my targa spends most of its time as a fair weather driver, I've never had to worry about bailing out my car. This weekend, I found myself in a deluge for most of a day that makes me realize I really should "battening down the hatches".

While I sat inside the car waiting for the rain to subside, I discovered 4 problem areas. (ok maybe 5)

First was a recurrence of a leak that appears just under the gas door release. the underside of the dash pad is moist and I've researched that I probably have to put some silicon underneath the windsheild seal and the body frame. Havn't gotten to this yet. I also noticed I had water dripping down by the passenger wooden floorboard. I'm hoping this is just an extension of that same leak.

When I opened the front truck, I had water dripping by the smugg box. Since I had the trunk seal replaced when the car was repainted, it makes me think water may be getting in by the fresh air vent. Seems I remember when I had the air blower box out though, there was a drain in the bottom of the box. Any place else the water could come from up front?

The two worst leaks were in the front targa top corner by the vent frame and the driver window rear top. In the vent fram area I see the seal is pinched and deteriorated. I know Dan sells the front seal that goes across the top, but there is also another seal that runs up the windsheild frame and seals to the vent fram. Under this seal at the top is a drain tube. Is this wole thing part of Dan's replacement? If not where to source? I don't find it in PP or Dc auto catalog.