Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Siren song for me

Siren song for me

Hello all: I am very new to the early 11 cars and just became a paying member to support this great registry.

I currently own a 997 and am looking into owning an early car mainly to savor the nostalgia, the traditional noises/smells, analogue, visceral lithe feel.

Since its the DNA that I am after, I feel that a "clone/replica/hot rod" may be lacking in some respects. I am sensitive to the the cost of ownership of an early car especially it being a purely hobby car. It is disheartening (for me) to see asking prices of even S's just a few years ago in Panorama and now what they are asking now for those cars. But I do know for a fact that if I wait now, prices are only going to go up in 5 years.

I think Es and Ts are up my alley when it comes to prices. Here is my question: Disregarding numbers (performance), if all I am seeking is 'feel' please give me your pick for the year and model I should be on the lookout for and give me your reason for what you picked (if it is not too much of an inconvenience).

I am looking for a driver quality early car and have no interest to store it as an investment, take it to cars and coffee or compete in concourse events. I am really after I have owned a 3.2 Carrera which was a very good car but the early car is calling me. It is a Siren-song for sure.

I really appreciate the time taken to read my post and advance thanks for your assistance. I am thinking 2.4 T vs 2.2 T. Would love to hear all the answers.
    Last edited by w00tPORSCHE; 06-02-2013 at 02:34 PM.

'73T mfi. Welcome to early world.
    Steve Shea #1 joined a long time ago
    58 speedster
    66 912
    67S
    73S
    97 VW eurovan
    1132 honda snowblower

member Jackson Hole Ski Club

A 2.2S, '70 or '71. Raw and pure!

66mm crank spins up quick, S cam comes on above 4500. Still light and responsive, visceral.