Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Unusual VIN number.

Unusual VIN number.

Can anybody explain this VIN number ?

Car is a 1983 Guards red Carrera 3.2. (october 1983)
    The number seems unusual since it has 2 characters to much.
    Same counts for the engine number which is 63E000TP1L

I'm trying to figure out the story behind this car.

All help is really appreciated, with best regard from Holland.
    Attached Images Attached Images

First of all, this is not a 1983 but a 1984 carrera 3.2. The E is the key that indicates a 1984 model year.
    In 1984, the first production car was wp0zzz91zes100061. The numbers 0001 to 0060 were eventually used for prototypes and pre-production cars.
    So, this car is very special and only Porsche can tell you exactly what they made.

I don't know what "TP" means, sorry.

I advice you to ask for a certificate of authenticity to learn more about it.

I'm no expert on 80's VIN's but I remember seeing another car with a TP VIN. I believe it was determined that the TP stood for techniche prufstelle (or something close) which translates roughly to "technical testing".

In that case, the VIN had nothing to do with the factory. It was determined that the car had received a new VIN after an event such as a theft or something similar and the "TP" facility was the agency that handled that.

No idea if this applies to your car but thought I'd chime in.

More references to "TP" VIN's here:

http://www.early911sregistry.org/for...ga-VIN-Mystery

Thank you all for this reply,its really helpful to me. I do agree that for some reason a new VIN could be reissued but having the TP also on the engine appears even more strange to me.
    The TP in the engine number is also additional.
    "ZE" in the VIN seams rights, but for the "H" i would expect a S ? (for Stuttgart ?)

Car is in great condition, appears to me a very original Early Carrera 3.2. Also 10-83 seems right to me as the first 3.2 was launched in October 83. (model 84)