Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gas tank restoration shop in Orange County?

Gas tank restoration shop in Orange County?

The gas tank in my 73 911t mfi, has this this brownish junk in the inside, I was told it has to be cleaned and resealed. Does any one recommend a shop in Orange County area?
    Thanks for your help

I don't think there is a "gas tank restoration shop " in Orange County . Clean strip will clean your tank , you will have to find someone to spray on new stonegard .

Curious- what is recommended for the inside of the tank? Clean and then coat with something?
    Haasman

Registry #2489
    R Gruppe #722
    65 911 #302580
    70 914-6 #9140431874
    73 911s #9113300709

Por-15 makes a kit to reseal the inside of your tank. Here's a link for ya. I've had no experience with their tank kit but their chassis rust protection is really good.

http://www.advanced-rust-protection....epair-Kit.html
    Porsche taste on a Volkswagen budget...

Quote Originally Posted by Richy View Post
    I don't think there is a "gas tank restoration shop " in Orange County . Clean strip will clean your tank , you will have to find someone to spray on new stonegard .
    What I was trying to say was a shop that offers tank restoration service, I found A1 radiator in orange ca, for $325 they strip the gas tank inside and outside, repair the dents and coat it inside and out.

I think A1 radiator would be classified as a gas tank repair shop not a gas tank restoration shop . Will they be duplicating the original stone guard finish and color ?
    I know the answer is no .

Early 911S Registry # 237 NeunElf's Avatar
    In general, old school radiator shops are where you go for gas tank repair. Harry & Son Radiator in Temple City, CA fixed some problems with my 356A's radiator and there was a 911 tank on the office floor when I was there. Harry & Son was used by a lot of restorers, including European restorers with thing;s like Mercedes 540Ks.