Thread: Visiting Porsche museum/workshop?

Visiting Porsche museum/workshop?

Hi all,
    I'm travelling to Germany in mid July and am planning to visit the main Porsche museum, is there anyway of getting a tour of the classic workshops? I'm a mechanic by trade and find the cars as works in progress far more interesting than cars on display.

Also any tips on how to get the most out of a trip to the Nurburgring? We will only have a crappy rental for travelling, but I have seen some of the track drive type rental places at the ring. Any recommendations for a good one?

Any other must dos in southern Germany? - we fly out of Munich.

Thanks for your help,
    Regards
    Reuben

Quote Originally Posted by Reuben L View Post
    Any other must dos in southern Germany? - we fly out of Munich.
    You should visit the Mercedes Museum when you're in Stuttgart.
    How much time do you have? The region between Munich and the alps is a place to enjoy - nice roads good food.
    The Museum workshop is right at the museum - you can look through the windows into the shop.
    I don't know if the the Classic workshop in Freiberg/Neckar offers tours.
    If you travel from Stuttgart to the Ring don't drive Autobahn (except your rental has 300hp+) take a trip through scenic Pfalz and France - I can give you some recommendations on a route.

Cheers

Uli

This was a nice 964 rental car in 1991 that was located at the Stuttgart airport. As Uli recommended you need to go thru the Mercedes Museum.

You need to contact PCA to set up your tours within Porsche facility.

Mercedes Museum

Porsche Museum

Last edited by Curt Hammill; 05-22-2016 at 06:18 PM.

If you are in Nui Ulm between Stuttgart and Munich visit Old Timer Fabrique a 400,000 sq ft restoration center and home of the Gum Ball valley called Donue Masters 100 classic cars from Ulm to Budapest its fun