Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Poster Obsession

Poster Obsession

I have been collecting Porsche factory racing posters for over 30 years and have over 500, actually I have no idea how many I have. Like anything else, a poster is worth what somebody is willing to pay. When these posters are offered for sale in a retail setting by a poster dealer the prices can double from what a long time collector would pay.

There are a couple of factors that determine the value.
    1. The age of the poster
    2. The very early 1951-1953 posters are worth the most – mainly because in collections of anything, the first ones are worth the most.
    3. The Race location ( LeMans, Daytona, Targa Florio, etc.), the famous tracks add interest, and value to a poster.
    4. What is shown in the picture – the 1970 Targa Florio showing Jo Sieffert coming around a corner in a 908 is particularly nice.
    5. And for the serious collectors condition is what determines the final price.

The 77 Mugello and the 88 Nurburgring are quite common. In the early 1990’s Porsche sold a mystery pack of posters at a price of $5 each, both of these posters were in there. These posters are often seen for $75-$125 each, but if somebody is not “in the know” and they just want a cool poster to hang on the wall they can trade hands for $200-300 each. And the guy who just wants some wall art does not care so much about condition.

The Two Daytona posters are good ones, especially to people that like 911 RSR’s, 917’s, or the 24 Hour of Daytona race. The drivers in these posters are also very interesting, Hurley Haywood, Paul Newman, Milt Minter, Mark Donohue, Bob Wollek, and many more. These posters would sell to a collector in the $200-$300 range (each), these posters being sold in a retail setting to a guy looking for wall art could be in the $300-$500.