Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Valve Adjustment Frequency/Cost

Valve Adjustment Frequency/Cost

I have a 73.5 2.4/CIS with about 10,000 miles on a recent rebuild a few years ago and the engine runs excellent. How frequent should I perform a valve adjustment? Is it normal for a pro shop in my area to take about 5.5 hours to do the adjustment? Appreciated.
    Last edited by miken426; 09-28-2016 at 10:37 AM.

member #1515
    Every 10K. Sounds like a lot of time, is that all that is included? Usually it includes plugs,timing, oil change, mixture check. AKA "tuneup"
    David

'73 S Targa #0830 2.7 MFI rebuilt to RS specs

Early 911S Registry # 237 NeunElf's Avatar
    Are they billing you for 5½ labor hours? That's pretty extreme for the old cars--I think I can do it in 30 minutes (and valve cover gaskets for less than $ 40) and I'm no master mechanic. It might be that difficult a job on late cars with catalytic converters requiring exhaust system disassembly.

The engine should be at room temperature when you adjust the valves so if you drive to the shop it might be five hours before they can start.
    Jim Alton
    Torrance, CA
    Early 911S Registry # 237

1965 Porsche 911 coupe
    1958 Porsche 356A cabriolet

5.5 hours @$135/hr for the valve adjustment + cost of gaskets (not the remaining tune up parts or installation - plugs, gas & oil filters, oil, etc - all of which I do on my own)

5.5 hours sounded long to me. At $135/hr and 5.5 hours, sounds like something I need to learn to perform on my own. On a scale from 1-10, 10 being hardest, how difficult would it be for me to do. I'm mechanically inclined and do various work on my cars, but have never adjusted the lifters. Thanks for the input

Early 911S Registry # 237 NeunElf's Avatar
    Adjusting the valves on a 911 is kind of a pain because you turn the crank 120° adjust an intake valve then crawl under the car to set an exhaust vale and then repeat five more times, but it doesn't take a high skill level.