Thread: 1972 oil vent hose questions

Question 1972 oil vent hose questions

I'm not new to the forum but this is my first post. I’m also fairly new to early 911s.* Currently trying to sort out the various vent hoses for a 1972T--the oddball.* The PET diagram isn't much help.

The picture should help.
    Name:  72 vent hose questions.jpg
Views: 190
Size:  21.6 KB

1.* I have a new, preformed hose that (supposedly) runs from the crankcase breather to the Oil tank.* I'd like to confirm that this is correct and that the hose connects to the rearward, upper vent outlet on the oil tank (It also seems to fit OK on the forward, lower outlet) See 2a as related. *Also, I'm unsure which way the hose is oriented as it seems to fit either way.* The best way seems to be with short bend on the oil tank end, which sends the hose back behind the air cleaner and air cleaner vent hose.* Part number on this hose is 930 107 399 00.* The hose previously one the car is a length of plain braided line, which seemed to work fine.* Both ends have hose clamps.

2.The air cleaner has three vent lines:
    a.* Supplier provided a braided 24mm line for the run from the air cleaner T to the oil tank.*(Part# 999 180 035 5A) Fits fine, but want to verify that this line runs from the air cleaner to the forward, lower outlet on the oil tank.* Also that there are no hose clamps. (Picture shows nut driver stuck in this line simulating the t-connection)
    b. *7.5 mm line runs from air cleaner drain to drain valve on front of engine.* No question here. *(Part # NLA 180 030 52)
    c. *12 mm braided hose connects to air cleaner T (opposite the 24 mm flame trap outlet) (Picture shows nut driver stuck in this line simulating the t-connection) and runs across and down the drivers side of the engine compartment and connects to a hard line between the frame and transmission mount.* Where does this hose eventually end in the front of the car? (Part # NLA 180 029 50)