Thread: Early wood steering wheel--seeking construction info/techniques

Early wood steering wheel--seeking construction info/techniques

I'm trying to find out how the early 911 wood wheels were constructed, and what species of wood was used. I have access to a couple early wheels, a steel one, and an aluminum, and have gleaned some basic construction info from their owners, but I'm looking for more specifics. I've got a couple core (non-wood) wheels on their way to me to experiment with as a base. My goal is to make my own early wooden wheel, not so much to save money (although that's one consideration) but rather because I like making things myself and enjoy the challenge of trying something new. I should add that I have extensive woodworking experience and have the skills to pull this off. So, here's some observations that I'm looking for more details on...

I've noticed that some wheels show the flat metal rim extends all the way through to the inside of the rim, but others are only visible on the outside of the wheel.

Some wheels have a black stripe on the face of the wheel that appears painted on, but others look more like an inlaid piece of ebonite/bakelite or something along those lines.

The actual wood structure looks like thin laminates that run continuously around the perimeter of the wheel rather than "plywood" like layers that some wheels show. The latter have distinct layers of cross grain which makes for higher contrast between the layers. I like the former look better since it looks like solid wood.

Some wheels show rivets, some don't.

I'm hoping someone here can help clear up some of these details. I've perused Youtube quite a bit looking for a video on how these are made and haven't found much.

This wheel is sort of my benchmark for what I'm shooting for.

And here's a couple pics of what I can do in wood so you guys know I've got the chops. Thanks!

Name:  1965+Gulf+Blue_12.jpg
Views: 361
Size:  493.1 KBName:  Img0099.jpg
Views: 361