Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 69 T Front Shocks/Struts

69 T Front Shocks/Struts

Ok, I just wire brushed this and couldn't see the makers stamp. I think these must be stock, (original maybe) Boge's.
    But I just don't know. I was expecting to see something that would take an "insert". I have no experience with Porsche struts.
    I have searched and have some idea, but am somewhat confused at this point.

Name:  DSC00563 (Medium).jpg
Views: 367
Size:  102.4 KB

So, what am I looking at here? Looks like rusty old parts that need replaced/updated to me....
    My thought is to just pay up and get new struts with new inserts and call it a day!

I have the rest of the front suspension out as well and will have a few more questions before this is done.
    Man those bushings are SHOT!
    Name:  DSC00555 (Medium).jpg
Views: 360
Size:  86.1 KB
    Name:  DSC00556 (Medium).jpg
Views: 362
Size:  115.0 KBthese
    Name:  DSC00558 (Medium).jpg
Views: 360
Size:  92.1 KB

Would these, (below) be a good idea to use with stock rubber bushings?
    Name:  low_friction_control_arm_mounts_911.jpg
Views: 336
Size:  37.1 KB

Thanks,
    Dan
    69 911 T #100176 Sportomatic
    Vanagons, 97 Jetta VR6, Misc junk...

Quote Originally Posted by Kilgore Trout View Post
    Ok, I just wire brushed this and couldn't see the makers stamp. I think these must be stock, (original maybe) Boge's. But I just don't know...
    Dan, if they're the original Boge shock struts, the tube diameters will be 52mm (2.05").
    Koni struts of that era had 58mm (2.28") tubes, and Boge Hydropneumatic struts had 64mm (2.52") tubes.

Jon B.
    Vista, CA

Thanks for the info Jon, I didn't realize some Boge were normal shocks. I thought they were all hydropneumatic.
    I will measure them tonight.

Looks like Boge to me. Unscrew the gland nut and see what type of insert you have. The Koni insert for a Boge housing is the 86-1647.
    Jason Burkett
    Paragon Products
    www.paragon-products.com