Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is collecting classic Porsche 911 still enjoyable?

Is collecting classic Porsche 911 still enjoyable?

About 3 months ago, I was fortunate enough to purchase a pristine 1961 Lotus Elite.

What does it have to do with collecting early 911S? (Chuck, please don't put this thread in the "other brands" session!)

I've been collecting early 911/912 Porsche for about 15 years, and the prices have been so high these last few years for good (to very bad cars), that I've began to diversify looking for cars that seemed significant (and fun), costing far less than our favorite brand: a Mini Cooper S from 1967, a Fiat 500 Giardiniera from 1968, and more recently the 1961 Lotus Elite.

My diversification process has been led by the rise in prices (beyond my comfort zone, as I do not consider my hobby an investment), but also by significant disappointments from workshops, restorers, dealers, fairs, etc: Endless repeated delays, huge unexpected bills, non original parts, lack of accuracy, and generally having the recurrent feeling that my "blind passion" was often being taken advantage of.

Don't get me wrong, collecting Porsche cars and automobilia has been huge fun over the years, and I could have probably handled the collecting process differently and be more attentive.

But collecting early 911 was and should be a passionate hobby, where you meet people who share respect and passion for these amazing cars, their driving experience, and not the pursuit of quick financial gains...