Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Winter cover engine grill cover ?

Xavier Petit-Jean-Boret Xavier PJB's Avatar

Winter cover engine grill cover ?

Dear all,
    am a bit frustrated not driving my 911L while it is cold outside (sounds like a song to me). Reason is caused by the icing carbs. (I did a post on the symptom and had some wonderful system to "heat" the manifold - a bit complex to make/install as of now)

I do believe you guys drive their carbs 911 in (cold) winter - how do you handle that bloody icing carb issue ? I think of making a steel plate with few holes to cover the engine grill to refrain cold air to get into the engine bay, keeping the warm air in and get the carbs "warm".

Views ?
    X
    O-G 26 - Early911S 2407

That isn't the cause, its the cold moist air being drawn into the engine air intake.
    Early S Registry member #90
    R Gruppe member #138
    Fort Worth Tx.

Banned
    I'm far from an expert in this but why wouldn't Xavier's idea work Ed? If he's pre-heating the intake air doesn't that considerably cut down the cold moist air?

Ideally you need heat risers warming the intake manifolds.

Sorry to rub it in but I had to share the miserable weather we have to put up with today.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

I’m not sure about long wheelbase, but the short wheelbase 911s have a Hose that directs warm air to the air cleaner snorkel whenever the heater valve is open
    John Schiavone

Connecticut

356 Cab, 66 911, 914-6, 550-Beck, 981 Cayman, 54 MV Agusta Dustbid

The warm air to the air cleaner as I mentioned previously and John just mentioned in the above post is your best solution. Blocking the grill MIGHT help, worth a try, but I'm not confident of it.
    R Gruppe member #138
    Fort Worth Tx.

Enjoy it while you can Frank, summer's coming!

DRY SUMMER (MAY 1 - JUNE 30)