Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Battery Tender on Dual Battery Setup

Battery Tender on Dual Battery Setup

I've read post on using a single battery tender on a dual battery setup. I've read that you need to connect the batter tender to the positive on one battery and to the negative on the second. My question is, if you have a battery tender with cigarette adapter can you use that or do you really need to connect directly to both batteries to insure they both get charged?

Regards

Chris

member #1515
    I am no electrician, but you only have one alternator.
    David

'73 S Targa #0830 2.7 MFI rebuilt to RS specs

The path for the car's charging system is from alternator to starter terminal, then thru cable to driver side battery (left side), then thru cable to passenger side battery, (right side). So by hooking the charger to only the left battery you are charging both batteries the same way as the car's system. This is the way I hook up my maintainer, there may be an electrical reason this doesn't work well, but I don't claim to understand it.
    Early S Registry member #90
    R Gruppe member #138
    Fort Worth Tx.

Ed is correct (as usual)...just connect the battery tender to one battery and the other one will also get charged.

Alan
    N.J.
    Alan
    N.J.

1964 E-Type roadster
    1969 911S
    1988 328GTB
    2002 Maranello

Thanks Ed, great knowledge to have.

Actually Ed is only partially right. The correct answer is it depends on the type of charger you use. Smart chargers connected to only one battery adjust their voltage and cycle based only on the primary battery load. For trickle charging of two fully charged batteries, this isn’t such a big deal, but if you are doing this to charge the batteries, especially if unevenly depleted, then tender to positive on one battery and tender to negative on the other is correct.