Thread: 1972 targa.. long road ahead

1972 targa.. long road ahead

Hi guys! This will be my first post here (I think) after seemingly joined in 2011! I own a restoration shop hidden in middle Tennessee and for the past few years I’ve been honing my craft on vintage sports cars and the occasional fj-40. Recently I got a customer in with a 72 targa that other than the oil door looks nothing like a 72 laughably. Everything but the doors and targa roof has been changed to a later model.

The plan is to take it back to original spec (including the engine which was also changed to a 3.0. And get rid of what we won’t need. I’ll be looking for advice on finding parts and panels, as well as what I’ve got currently (I’m not a Porsche expert in the least).

I’ll try to get my post count up quickly so I can throw in some photos before we start the build process!

(And for any curious my shop is called Alchemy-pfm, you can find me on Instagram.

Welcome 6er....
    Chuck Miller
    Creative Advisor/Message Board Moderator - Early 911S Registry #109
    R Gruppe #88

TYP901 #62
    '73S cpe #1099 - Matched # 2.7/9.5 RS spec rebuild
    '67 Malibu 327 spt cpe - Period 350 Rebuild

’98 Chevy S-10 – Utility
    ’15 GTI – Commuter

Welcome, you’ll find this place very helpful in your endeavors. Post pics when you hit the ‘magic’ number!
    Reg#2218

Welcome, sounds interesting, will tune in. I have a 71 Targa and may not be far from middle TN depending on definition, it is a big state!
    Best Regards

Thanks for the welcome guys! And Jerry, we’re just south of nashville so, almost the literal middle haha.