Thread: 69S Transmission Ratios and Tranny Noises

JuanLopez

69S Transmission Ratios and Tranny Noises

I have a problem with one of my 69 911S. It is the one I use for track events and it has developed a whine on 4th gear only when the tranny is warm and running at a constant speed. Is this "the problem" with the intermediate plates?

Also, I'm looking in to rebuilding the box and taking advantage to optimize my gears for Sebring/Daytona/Homestead/Road Atlanta and VIR. Any suggestions on gear ratios (or letters), I use stock 15" fuchs with 205/50's and my target RPM is 7000.

My motor is a slightly modified 69 2.0S with Webers and MSD (for now anyway!)

Your help is appreciated. Juan (69 S Street and 69S track)

ttweed
    Juan-

I'm no expert, but if it only happens in 4th gear, doesn't that indicate it is a problem with that gearset alone? Wouldn't it be more generalized, otherwise?

If gears aren't meshing well, they can whine, but so can bearings that are going south.

If you're going to change gearing anyway, then you can check it out. Otherwise, I would try changing the lube and see if it makes any difference. A lot of people swear by Swepco, but I use Redline synthetic in mine. It's a good chance to take a look for any large metallic chunks in the case, too.

I thought the 901 "intermediate plate problem" was just due to flexing in high horsepower applications, but I will leave it to the more expert to expound on that. If your engine is only "slightly" modified, that shouldn't be a problem, no? You aren't making more than 200HP w/ a 2.2, are you?

There are a couple of good gearing chart sources on the WWW, but they are mostly for the 915 and G-50 trannies, but you should be able to plug in your ratios, ring and pinion and tire size. Dr. Steve Timmins has some, including one in an Excel spreadsheet you can plug your own values into at
    instant-g.com/index.html