Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spark plugs for '73 S

Spark plugs for '73 S

I've heard bad things about using platinum plugs in this car, but can't seem to find anything other than the W3DPO's. Is anyone runing a different kind of plug that they are happy with?

The only bad thing I ever heard about platinum plugs is that they are more expensive. I've been hearing it for 30 years!

Bosch, NGK, Autolite and Champion all list a plug for our cars.

I used to use a W265P21 Bosch plug in an early 2.2 S I had. My suspicions are that technology has come a long way and I would not be the least bit afraid of a standard platinum plug.
    For what it's worth try these 2 sites out:

http://www.boschusa.com/home.asp

http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/

Also, the NGK search will turn up the 911-S as having 2-3bbl as the fueling system whereas the T lists "Ex K Jetronic and K Jetronic. The E displays "FI".

Have fun.
    Early S Registry #235
    rgruppe #111

Would you believe??

I have a few sets of unused W265P21's...I keep thinking about screwing a set in sometime, but they're really a bit too cold for the driving I do these days. Some you might want to try
    Bosch:
    W3DPO
    WR5DP
    W4CS
    NGK:
    B8ES
    B8EV

I'm currently running the W4CS, as suggested by Gordon Ledbetter, one of this area's top early P car wrenches. They seem to work well for my driving. That is, mostly go with the (traffic) flow, but run to redline from time to time, when conditions allow being frisky. No track use.
    Paul D. Early S Registry #8 - Cyclops Minister of West Coast Affairs
    "Now, to put a water-cooled engine in the rear and to have the radiator in the front, that's not very intelligent." -Ferry Porsche (PANO, Oct. 1973)

"when conditions allow being frisky"
    Now, I like the way you put that. Next time I'll tell the police to excuse me for being frisky. Think it'll work???

Thanks for the heads up on the plugs.
    Early S Registry #235
    rgruppe #111