Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fuel Filter Woes

Fuel Filter Woes

Perfect summer day blemished by roadside breakdown!

It was a perfect Porsche day. Cool air temps, sunny skies... let's GO!
    Got about ten miles or less in when the motor started losing power. Full throttle romps while at speed produced almost no acelleration. Finally it died at a stop light, and would not re-fire.

The motor turned over as normal, but it just would not catch. A scan of gauges and under the lid turned up nothing unusual.

As time went on, the motor would start, and run for a few seconds, then die. The longer I waited, the longer the motor would run before dying. It still would not rev when given any boot.

After about 50 minutes it started and could rev... I was 3 miles from home so I kept the revs up and made sure not to stop for any lights etc. (hey, it was an emergency) and made it home no worries.

I'm new to the MFI so I'm looking for a little direction here. It seems like a fuel delivery problem to me. What do you guys think?

I've read the threads previously about fuel filter/fuel "crud" problems, so I think that I'm on the right track here. My question is simple, do the S and RS share the same (engine compartment) fuel filter?

Also, as long as I'm at it how about the ignition components? How much was carried over intact to the RS? Rotor, cap etc?