Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Greetings! And a few questions to start.

Greetings! And a few questions to start.

Hello Members,

I am new to the 911 bulletin boards and am amazed at body of knowledge and support that exists on this site. I rescued my 1970 911S Targa about 4 years ago from being sold for parts. It still amazes me that my car was nearly lost. I have recently dived into taking the car apart and restoring every thing that I can. Although I have been able to gather most of the information that I need from traditional sources there are a few things that I cannot confirm what is correct for the car. I hope that you members don’t mind me unleashing upon you many questions about the fine details of my car so that I can restore it as authentically as possible.

1. Colour of Trunk and engine compartment: Satin Black or Body color on a 1970?
    2. Plating on Gear shift lever: Nickel or Chrome?

These are the ones that are stopping me from progressing this weekend.

Thanks in advance.

Bob
    1970 911S Targa
    On the road again soon.

Bob:
    I have a 72S and my gear shift is chrome. I do not think anything was nickel in a 911. My trunk and engine lid were painted body color on the underside.
    Bill Cilker, Jr.
    Gold 72 911S
    31 Ford Model A
    PCA, Early S Registry (#98) & RGruppe (#272)
    Rotarian

Thanks Bill,

There is are two cars locally that are completely original.
    A 69E has black in areas questioned.
    A 72S has body colour in these areas.

Looking at my 1970 owners manual that came with the car the areas are black too. I suspect that the pictures are from an older car however.

I believe that there was a transition from black to body colour but I cannot determine when that was. Can anyone confirm my observation?