Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Removing rearview mirror

Removing rearview mirror

I have no glass experience, but wish to remove and replace the windshield mounted rearview mirror (lookin really sad hangin there). How do you go about removing the glass mounted piece without damaging the glass? Heat? Razor blade? I really, really don't want to ruin a perfectly good windshield.
    Paul Schooley
    71 911T (RS wanabe w/2.7L juice)
    S Reg #863
    R Gruppe #330

Paul,

Judicious heat (heat gun) on outside surface on glass... be careful bud

I just put my morror back on after a windshield replacement and found that Performance Products' Mirror Adhesive Pad (a special type of 3M double stick tape) #903110 ($4.95) only comes in white now... the last two I've done, the tape pads were black... I was pissed ... everytime I look at that white tape from the outside in... I'm STILL pissed

I you find a tape pad that's black please let me know...

Cheers,
    Chuck Miller
    Creative Advisor/Message Board Moderator - Early 911S Registry #109
    R Gruppe #88

TYP901 #62
    '73S cpe #1099 - Matched # 2.7/9.5 RS spec rebuild
    '67 Malibu 327 spt cpe - Period 350 Rebuild

’98 Chevy S-10 – Utility
    ’15 GTI – Commuter

The OEM stuff the manufacturers use now on the modern heavier mirrors or that a good dealer would use to reattach a loose mirror is 3M's adhesive buttons made specifically for this purpose. 3M's term for it is Part 9214 Automotive Structural Bonding Tape. It's the cats balls for keeping a mirror on. Unfortunately for the consumer, it needs to be installed with heat from a special unit and can only be bought in a roll of ten buttons. It starts out black and turns dark gray after mounted and the heat has been applied. Its probably what's holding the mirror on in your new car.