Thread: Fuel vapor smell...???

Unhappy Fuel vapor smell...???

OK, during a spin in my 68 today, there was an overwhelming smell of gasoline when the windows were open. I first (fire extingusher in hand) checked the engine bay, but no leaks or smell. No smell anywhere when it was parked and no smell with the windows up either. No dripping and all the lines are dry...so what could it be?

gas cap?
    some vent line in the luggage compartment??
    other???
    Michael
    '56 T-1 356 bent window coupe...
    68 911L Burgandy Red R Gruppe #388
    72 911S Coupe, Sepia Brown

It's not only you, Michael. I do have the same exact experience every single time I take her out or just to start her in the garage. Got me thinking to practice fire drill with the f.e. by the passenger's seat just in case. I'm no expert so let's see what the fellas will say on this one.
    Cheers!
    71S Targa
    03 996 Cab
    05 prius daily driver

With mine Conrad, there is no smell at a stand still... still, could be related though.

I just removed my filler cap, removed the cork seal, added some 3M weatherstrip seal, flipped the seal and reinstalled. Will see what that does. I know on my 356 when the cork seal goes bad on the filler, I get fumes. Got me thinking. I will update. In the meanwhile, any more ideas
    Michael

"roll up the windows and hold your nose!"

My 356 used to stink up the entire garage with the smell of fuel, until I replaced the vented gas cap with a non-vented one. While driving, however, the smell of fuel is still quite noticeable in the cabin, and even my clothes pick up the smell

I've noticed while driving the turbo, and sitting at let's say a light, there's a noticeable fuel smell that creeps into the cabin. However, it seems to disapate once underway again.

I can't comment on the T's smell, as I've just acquired it recently and I haven't really spent much time behind the wheel yet.

Do you experience the same fuel aroma with your '67?
    All the best...