Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Very early 911 found

Smile Very early 911 found

Hi all,

I have just joined the group. I just brought home a (I believe) a 1965 911. I am new to these older 911s. I am in the assesment mode and trying to figure out what the car is and what I have. I have lots of questions and I hope some the experience on this Board can offer some help.

I am trying to figure out what kind of engine and transmission the car has.

Chassis Number 301803. 803 is stamped on the doors. Also, 803 is written in grease pencil on the underside of the interior door caps.
    Paint Code 6410

Motor Serial Number: 6300965

Where is the Engine type shown on the engine? According to some on the Pelican site, the above motor serial number corresponds to a 1970 S motor. The case has 901.101.102.2R cast into it just above the oil return tubes. On the heads the number cast in is 901.105.1110R.

The transmission has the number 161811 stamped into the case on the bottom rib at the bellhousing. The car has a 5 speed shift knob but I could not feel first gear in the usual location or any reverse lock out. Where should I look for the transmission type to determine what it is? Does a four speed look different from a five speed from the outside?

The car appears to have an original equipment AC system by looking at original 1965 parts books. It also has a gas heater and electric sunroof.