Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Let's go to Mexico! Fall event

Let's go to Mexico! Fall event

Hello everyone
    Check out this idea for a fall '06 run for us. Early S and R Gruppe members. This incorporates some terrific roads on both sides of the border

I would like to take this opportunity to give you a quick "tour" of what i have in mind for R Gruppe run that we can do later this year (in the fall) or early next year. As you may, or may not, know I've been doing a backroads weekend "rally/tour", for several years, from Alpine (located about 1/2 hour drive east of San Diego off the 8) thru usa side excellent back roads- julian, dulzura and we stop at the border xing in tecate. We cross as a group , meet my Ensenada based partner at the border. Then after doing a tour of the Tecate brewery, we take off over the windy hills/roads leading from tecate to ensenada. We do it in "stages" where we go for about 20-25 minutes, then stop at each town that straddles the road so everyone (including the chase car and flat bed tow truck) can catch up. Besides allowing everyone to drive at their own pace, it keeps us from speeding through each of these towns that straddle the road.
    We do this several times with one of the stops being a very nice winery. Depending on the time of year, there are various events or entertainment at some of the stops.