Thread: pre-73 first post

pre-73 first post

Well, this is my first Post on this board that I luckily found 3-4 months ago.

I am new to the pre-73 world but not to the Porsche world (993 & 986S).

I am looking since 10 months to buy a pre 73 911 model that I will use for weekend fun, and also for regularity rallyes and regularity in circuit 3-4 times per year. So I am looking for pre73 looks inside out but slightly enhanced performance not a complete garage queen

The things that I have clear by now, is that I want a coupe (sunroof will be nice to have) and that I cannot afford an S at current prices

Last weeked tested my first 2 pre 73s, they were 2 2.4T models, one 72 modified (brakes, motor (injection) and suspension) and one 73 unmodified, and I really liked the concept is just what I expected, specially the modified one, the other although I did like it needed some serious attention.

After the test the first question raised to my mind , for which I would like to obtain your opinion if possible.

Is the 2.4 E significantly more DIY friendly than the T?, I enjoy DIY a lot as part of the fun owning this cars.

Is its worth that I wait for a nice 2.4E or you can obtain similar performance from a tunned 2.4T engine?

Are the trim parts of the pre-73s car difficult or expensive to obtain?

What are good sources to find nice not very expensive pre 73 cars?

Thanks and sorry for so many questions in my first post.
    Early S Reg. #1263
    72´911E
    95´993
    02´986S

1. Is the 2.4 E significantly more DIY friendly than the T?

As far as I know, the 2.4T and 2.4E motors are equally DIY friendly.

2. Is its worth that I wait for a nice 2.4E or you can obtain similar performance from a tunned 2.4T engine?

You can put E or S cams/parts into a T and have similar performance. I recommend keeping a 911E or a 911S P-car stock to retain their value.

3. Are the trim parts of the pre-73s car difficult or expensive to obtain?

Expensive- yes; difficult to obtain- no.