Thread: How come you guys never told me....

How come you guys never told me....

How come you guys never told me how much fun these cars are on track. Its been about 18 months since I got sucked into this whole early 911 thing (yes I guess I'm still a newbie/rookie). I've done a bunch of fast road runs (Mexico, Sonoma etc) but hadn't been on track. Finally I got out on track with my 72 RS Replica. This particular car has a pretty serious set up on the chassis side--monoballs, fully adjustable, 951 brakes, corner balanced and serious camber. The previous owner built it for driver's ed. So it was about time to check out what it could do.

I just got back from a day with Alltime Racing (website) at Willow Springs on the big track. I've been on track many many times in lots of different cars including some serious modern heavy metal. But today I think I had one of the best times I've ever had on track and maybe in a car (well there was that time in high school...). Even though my car only has a rebuilt lowly original 2.4T MFI motor with about 150hp, it was so much fun.

The way the car handled, could be steered by throttle, steadily drifted and communicated every nuance of what the tires were doing was just phenomenal. The feel and feedback was just awesome. I spent a lot of time with my foot flat to the floor and in a few spots could have used a little more go, but I gave a lot of the modern cars out there a run for their money, especially in the turns. I was especially enjoying rotating the car with the throttle in turn 4 and drifting down the hill. Only had one "oh sh!t" moment coming out of 5. Man what a blast. Sure I've done faster laps in other cars but not with such a big grin on my face.

I guess I should have known given all those cool old pictures of these cars in action at the track. Definitely getting out there again. Soon!
    Cheers,

Steve

Early 911S Registry #791
    R Gruppe #404

69 911T Ivory White 2.9 "RGruppe'd" (SOLD)