Thread: Advice Needed on a '72 911 2.4 S Restoration

Advice Needed on a '72 911 2.4 S Restoration

Dear all,

I'm new to this forum and I am writing to you to ask your advice.

I am about to embark on the restoration of a 1972 911 2.4 S with a Porsche restorer here in Switzerland, Mr. Tobias Nussbaum of the company Flat Six Cars. The car will not be a daily driver or used for rallies / racing. I am not buying the car as a speculation item or investment. It is more a dream car to enjoy in the summer, perhaps 2-3,000 miles per year. I've been waiting to buy my first great car all my life (about as long as the '72 model has been around!).

Mr. Nussbaum has a Swiss donor car with matching numbers ready to go and has offered a complete restoration covering body, engine, transmission, suspension, interior, etc. for a fixed price. This would give me a completely stock 911 S as it was available in 1972. Although I am a layman, I visited Mr. Nussbaum's workshop in Basel and had a very positive impression of his work (I drove with him in a restored 2.7 RS), his professionalism and his trustworthiness.

On Saturday we are meeting to discuss the project (dates, options, contracts, etc.). I am anxious to get the project going because this is the dream car I have been looking for.

As you guys are experts on the 911 S, I thought I'd ask you one or two questions on how you would recommend doing the restoration:

1. The fixed price includes waxing of the underbody but not a complete galvanisation in a zinc bath. This would cost several thousand dollars more. Would you recommend adding this step in order to improve the quality of the car? If, for any reason, I needed to sell the car in future, would this be an important item a buyer would look for?