Thread: complete newbie with questions

complete newbie with questions

Hello all, I'm completely new to this forum, completely new to Porsche and could use some help. I've purchased a 65 911 "rolling chassis" that is 100% rust free, had all body work done, was painted, and then stored inside for about 10 years. The 911 has no drivetrain, no interior, and no front or rear glass,no wheels/tires, but everything else seems to be there. Here are a few questions:

1) How much from a 65-68 912 donor car can be used on the 911?

2) Where can I find 911 Steel wheels(other than ebay) so I can at least move the car around?

3) What is the interchangeability of interior parts between SWB and LWB?

4) What is a fair price(GULP) for a 2.0 and transmission? Any good sources?

I'm really looking forward to putting together a nice driver for the weekends and I couldn't pass on this clean body car. Thanks in advance!

Welcome....

and get ready to spend some money! At least it is cheaper then a really bad drug addiction! Maybe.
    1) Quite a bit can be used from a 912 SWB donor.
    2) Do you have a Euro/import salvage yard in your area? Try them for the steel wheels. Also, ask in the classifieds of this board and Pelican. You can also buy a set of cookie cutter wheels. They are also pretty cheap and plentiful.
    3) Be careful with seat rails and some other trim items between SWB and LWB. Some of this is specific to the SWB. Look at Pelican or go to Porsche's website and download the pdf parts catolog for your car. This will answer alot of those questions.
    4) $3,500 to $10,000 depending on condition and state of tune. Obviously a fresh motor and gearbox rebuilt by a reputable Porsche shop will be at the high end of that scale. The lower end is when you stumble on a running motor and gearbox with some life in it!