Thread: Dad shopping for own gift -- HELP :)

Dad shopping for own gift -- HELP :)

I am new to the early 911s and am looking for a class to take to learn about the engines and car maintenance. Are there any courses out there for this purpose. I mean real beginner level....as in gas goes in the gas tank as a knowledge base.

Second question....good driving school for a basis for vintage rally, driver education, baby-step racing. I live in Florida so something in the southeast is preferred but not 100% necessary.

These are gifts that I would like the family to get me. If you guys on the board can't help, I will end up with a neck tie, shaver, coffee mug, and pics of the kids....not that we all don't love those things, but......

Thanks for the help!!

Jason,

These are GREAT questions....

You might want to consider these:

First, I'd read, then re-read, the maintenance section of the owners manual that came with your car ... until you feel pretty comfortable with the info...
    (One of the BEST sources of basic info for your car there is)

Then I'd join your local PCA chapter and see if there are any maintenance classes available...(Porsche Club of America)

Then I'd get 'Pelican's' Wayne Dempsey's book (101 projects)...

Then I'd get a factory set of workshop manuals...(expensive)

Kind'of in that order...with a bunch of comfort time in between...

Also,

The PCA should also be able to give you list of D.E (drivers education) classes in your region....

Hope any of this helps,

Cheers,
    Chuck Miller
    Creative Advisor/Message Board Moderator - Early 911S Registry #109
    R Gruppe #88

TYP901 #62
    '73S cpe #1099 - Matched # 2.7/9.5 RS spec rebuild
    '67 Malibu 327 spt cpe - Period 350 Rebuild

’98 Chevy S-10 – Utility
    ’15 GTI – Commuter

Jason,