Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: questions about 1969 911 w/3.0

questions about 1969 911 w/3.0

I have come across a 1969 911 with a 1979 3.0 liter. I am new to the Porsche buying experience but believe I can get a fair price on this car. I have a number of concerns and wanted to get some outside opinions before throwing down the cash.

The car is in good shape. According to the owner is went through a frame-off rebuild within the last 6 years. He did not own the car at the time but has complete video and paper documentation of the rebuild. I could not find rust during my garage inspection but it looks like the underbody has been completely recoated. The odometer reads 98,612 and the rebuild was done at 94,000. Of course this is not the original engine so I'm not really sure how long the motor has been in this car.

My first question is how significant does a different model year motor impact the value of the car? And what are your opinions on the 3.0 79' vintage?

Secondly, whoever restored the car added flared fenders along with new bumpers and a tail to resemble a Carrera 2, it even has Carrera 2 wheels on it. This is not really to my liking. Aside from the fenders I would like to retro the car to resemble a 69'. Should I be aware of any common pitfalls when trying to remove plastic bumper pieces in favor the original equipment?

I think this car would be a great way to get into Porsche ownership and could be a good investment. I'm assuming so long as I don't do anything stupid this car will retain its value and will be a sound investment to turn in the future. The seller is asking $10,500 for it. I estimate I'll need to sink in $2000 to get it where I want it. I'll post pics when I get a chance. Any input is appreciated. Thanks for your help.