Thread: New member with questions

New member with questions

Hi, Im Seth and I just joined after seeing a link to your site in Traction magazine. Im from Davenport, Ia, drive a 96 BMW 318ti California Edition and I am part of the Projekt German Auto Gruppe. The 318ti isnt anything too special, the California Edition part means that the majority of the roof is made of canvas and folds back. 1996 was the only year true Cali Editions were made, mine is one of 600. Its a pretty cool feature and is nice in the summers. Heres a few pics of it-

And the Cali roof-

Well as I said I found out about this place through Traction magazine and but have loved these cars for a while although I guess I am new to them and dont know much about em. My dad owned a 80s 911 (Im not sure on the exact year) and sold it right when I really started getting into cars. My 318ti has been a bit of a disappointment for me because it is a automatic and lacks real potential, but for a first car it is amazing. Ive had it for a few years now and still love it to death despite its shortcomings. That said I always have the idea of a project car in the back of my mind. So I guess I have a few questions, sorry if theyve been answered before-

What does a complete project needing a fair amount of work go for these days? Ive searched ebay before and the results wernt promising for someone on a budget.

I almost hate to ask this since its such a noob question but what kinds of mods are common with these cars?

And finally, how often do good project cars show up in the midwest? I always see beautiful project BMWs out in Cali but never around here, Im assuming this is the same way with early 911s.

Sorry for the noob questions and the long post. Thanks in advance for the help!

Hey, Seth. I've never been a big fan of late-model Bimmers, but I have to say that roof reminds me of the old VW rag tops. Cool stuff.