Thread: How do I tell if the 68 Targa is an "S" ?

How do I tell if the 68 Targa is an "S" ?

Hi

I was told of a "68 S " the other day,
    How do I tell if its really an "S"

but the older Stoddard book is a little confusing on what the Vin number for a 68S Targa is , and what the engine code number is supposed to be ,
    and the engine serial number series

Is it listed anywhere else on the web ?

is the "S" stamped on the aluminum vin plate >

Did the USA model 68S have a smog pump ?

like always the seller says its all original,. but I know he did not buy it new so how does he really know ?

Thanks for your help

Chuck

Chuck:

I have a 68 US Targa. As I understand, there was no S sold as a US model because the S was unable to make the grade in regard to the emissions controls. The US Targas came in the normal and the L. Hope this helps.

Jason

Do you have access to the VIN? That would tell all. I'm not an expert in this crowd but I know there were no '68 Esses officially imported to the USA.
    Alan

Vin

the aluminum ID plate should read 911S in the first box at the top
    and VIN in the box below
    also the number is stamped in the body just below and to the left of the smugglers box
    Richard aka le Zookeeper
    early reg #1128

Hi

well I am still confused,

Is it really a 911 L ?
    or is it a 911 S with the lower HP motor but still an "S"

since a European S has a seperate serial number series and the more HP motor is the the "True S "

I would think thats important to its later value if I dump a bunch of $$$$ in it to restore it.....

thankls for your thoughts

Chuck

Look at the car