Thread: engine swap 1969s

engine swap 1969s

I Have A 69s With A 68 Motor That I Can Swap Out For A 1980 3.0 Liter Motor With New Pmo's And A High Tech Ignition System. The 3.0 L Engine Comes Complete With A Fairly Decent Targa Attached To It. I Would End Up With A Targa Roller And A 68 Motor To Sell. At Some Point I Would Like To Return The 69s To The Original Configuration Motorwise But In The Meantime This Seems Like A Good Interim Ride. My Question Is How Many Problems Will I Run Into If I Put The 3.0 Motor/AND 915 trans Into The 69s? Will The Suspension And Rear Hubs Need To Be Transferred Also And Any Other Obvious Problems That I Should Expect? Any Good Step By Step Articles Around On The Motor Change?
    I Appreciate Any Advice
    Eric 843 298-9677

I have zero experience at this swap but I've been told to put a 915 trans into a 69 chassis, you will need to enlarge the trans tunnel to get the 915 to fit properly (big hammer job). I would also imagine you would need to replace the clutch assy that runs from the 915 and include the pedal on the floor. I suspect this info is true because I considered swapping my 901 for a 911 trans from a 70-71 model year. I was told by reliable sources I would have to swap my entire clutch assy as well. I assume this to be correct because the 901 trans that came in 69 was a specific configuration offered in that model year only. To save yourself this work . . . you may want to checkout the effort involved with running your 901 with your 3.0. I'd guess it would hold-up just fine assuming it's in good shape and you are not running a simplified differential (ie. non-simplified is better . . . do a search on this for more info).
    Tom Ching
    69E Burgundy

'69s engine swap

Just hold on a minute...If your swapping the entire 3.0l and 915 combo
    you wont encounter any real problems other thatn switching the cd to 6pin
    and maybe a few wires on your harness if that.