Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 911S Question

911S Question

Newbie here so excuse the basic question. Been a 356and 912 man so far but early 911s of course are the ultimate

I came across this car which look interesting but I don't know much about the 911s. Here is what the vendor is saying about it. Its a '66 with a Le Mans body kit. It was raced in Germany in Berlin race in 1967. Then in Nurenberg and possibly Florina Targa but no paper to prove it. The car was thne imported in the US and the engine reconditioned with Weber 40IDS fitted.
    It hasn't been started for at least a year and now needs floors and suspension pan replaced as well as painting.
    The vin is a late 1966, and has the "S" stamped next to the number. The engine number isn't any of the standard production numbers for the models produced bwtween 1964 and 1969, he believes it is a factory rally engine number, as it ties in with the limited run of 911R numbers and the limited run of 911ST numbers. The block is a 911 2.0 litre "S" number
    The Webers are IDS, the steering wheel is a 911S registered 1966 number, and the plates which cover the spark plugs are also 1966 911S numbers
    I do not have the vin nor the engine numbers yet. I asked for them

Does the above make sense to any of you 911s experts out there? What sort of price range would be a fair price for this car?

Restoration newbie.
    Here's the link, I realise you may be hoping to keep this under the radar but
    it's on eBay so it's out there already.

Observations about this car:

a. the most conspicuous by it's omission is *ANY* mention of the actual numbers,
    almost enough to call bull**** by itself.

b. claims that it's a rally kit car, mixed in with some sport kit options,
    but there's no breather bottle in the engine bay so either it's been
    removed or it's a plain rally kit car, if at all.

c. chain tensioners have been upgraded to oil fed type.

d. Nice 5 blade fan, not.