Thread: Fuel Pump/pressure Question

Fuel Pump/pressure Question

I am considering purchase of a new fuel pump for my 2.7L 68 with weber carbs.

I found some Facet pumps available that look somewhat like the original type pump. The pumps are internally regulated and they have available a model rated at 2.75 - 4.0 PSI and 32 GPH and a model rated at 4.0 - 5.5 PSI and 36 GPH. My spec book tells me the fuel pressure should be about 3.5 to 4.

Which pump would be optimal. I would like to avoid a regulator and all that.

www.truechoice.com/products.asp?dept=1292

Thanks in advance.

Gary

fuel pumps

Good luck with that question Gary. I am a total rookie dealing with these cars, so I have searched and found some clues. These Facet pumps seem to me to be very close to what the original equipment would have been. For pre fuel injection models/years that is. Here are some links:

http://www.facet-purolator.com/index...d=14&Itemid=36

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/showt...hlight=cohline

Optimal Pump?...mmmm, I am going to try either a blue top or a silver top with an Italian regulator, per one of the last pics in the Pelican link. From reading here, Mr. Cramer seems to be a very wise man concerning these cars.

I WILL get a solid 900 rpm so I can tune my carbs. This is my mission!
    69 911 T #100176 Sportomatic
    Vanagons, 97 Jetta VR6, Misc junk...

Facet Pumps

The Malpassi regulator is OK and is available in several forms, with and without filters for example.

The Silver Top delivers enough fuel and can be changed so it only develops 2.5psi and then the regulator can be omitted.

For the past few years the Facet pumps have gained a reputation for being unreliable but they are quite often installed incorrectly and are placed horizontally instead of vertically.

The pumps are now manufactured in Scotland and quality does seem to have improved and the technical guys are very helpful.