Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here, thoughts on what to acquire?

Newbie here, thoughts on what to acquire?

Hey everyone. I have been lurking for awhile and finally took the time to register. Great forums here and people seem very helpful.

I am new to the 911 crowd-been committed to the 356 world. That said i do have my eye on a couple cars and thought i would ask if anyone could share their views on the 71T at Caporsche. What are peoples thoughts on the Sportomatic? Value of these T targa's? Looks like a solid solid car. WIth the ess's hit such high numbers are the T's a viable alternative. Should I leave the E's out due to the hydro suspensions? I am seeking factory originals.

http://www.caporsche.net/images/cars...82/images.html

anyways, thanks much for any feedback

Rick,

Sportomatics are a very different beast, not for everyone or even most.

Targas are nice (I own one) but not as sporting as coupes.

E's (which have mechanical fuel injection) have great throttle response and are lots of fun.

Most of the cars which had hydropneumatic struts have been changed. Not that big a deal.

Good luck,
    Ed
    Early 911S Registry #224
    911S Targa 1973
    356B Roadster 1962

My thoughts:

• I wonder about a 40,000 mile car that needed a complete repaint (should've kept it as is for preservation class concours, for instance)
    • The VIN plate appears to be a re-stamp
    • Sportos are a breed to themselves. I like the full manual action (but Peter Gregg liked Sportos!)

It sounds like you are at the very beginning stages of learning about 911's. Unless you just have to have this combo (color/targa/sporto), I would slow down and learn more before jumping into a purchase.