Thread: Handbrake lever

Handbrake lever

I'm a newbie here. Just registered and don't know my way around here yet. Got into a thread by mistake where a knock down drag out fight was taking place about someone selling cars and complaints back and forth about people cutting into thread space. What is this all about?? I'm expecting a reply any minute from someone telling me to mind my own business. You've got a feisty forum here. Perhaps, it was an old thread and you got it all worked out.

Anyway, I've got a very minor situation and I'm hoping since I'm new that someone will reply. Just purchased a '72 T, all original, and have been doing some minor repairs. This morning the knob you push with your thumb on the end of the handbrake came off and a long spring was sticking out. When I put the knob back in, the spring just pushes it out again. Obviously, something is missing to keep the spring and knob in the handle. I also noticed a small broken piece of hard rubber that also came out. Too small to tell what it is. Can anyone explain what is missing? Perhaps I can find an exploded view of the brake on Pelican Parts and find out what is going on. I could not find anything here under handbrake or ebrake, but again, I'm new to the forum.
    Earl

First welcome. Second you must post a picture of your car it is required

Can not help you with your emergency brake problem but someone will it is a great resource for all things early 911
    Early 911S Registry #750
    1970 911E - The Good Stuff
    2001 Toyota Landcruiser