Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Albert Blue/ DuPont 5000

Albert Blue/ DuPont 5000

Just took my 1970 911E to paint.
    Anyone know of way to cross reference to Dupont 5000?

The car was originally 1818-L (Albert blue)

The painter was going to have his Dupont rep scan an exposed original section of the car, but want to make sure its an authentic match and not take the chance of discoloring in the scan after 40 years.

Thanks for your help

Bud

This Duport 5000?

http://pc.dupont.com/dpc/en/US/html/...pcoat_HK_E.pdf

Do you want to use Glasurit? Or something else?
    Peter Kane

'72 911S Targa
    Message Board Co-Moderator - Early 911S Registry #100

Yes Peter, I believe that is the Dupont 5000 he wants to use.
    Is it not advisable?

Bud

First off, I am not a paint expert (but there are plenty on this board who are).

What I noted on the Dupont site was that all they offer are paint chips. I did not see info on paint matching.

If you go to the Glasurit site, for instance, you can look up the specific color you desire and get the Glasurit formula:

http://www.glasurit.com/en_UK/COLOR/...LINE/index.xml
    http://color-online.glasurit.com/?language=8

In your case, search on 1818.
    Peter Kane

'72 911S Targa

Why not use Lesonal, like the original paint? My painter used Lesonal and it turned out perfect.

John
    Early 911S Registry #931
    --------------------------------
    1971 911 2.2S Coupe Albert Blue
    1971 911 2.2T Coupe Tangerine
    2005 997 C2S Coupe special 1965 slate grey
    1978 911 3.0 SC Targa Silver w/chrome trim

Looks like Albert Blue is POR325 in Lesonal:

http://www.qnetonline.nl/LESNA/Color...ByManufacturer
    Peter Kane

'72 911S Targa

Thanks for your input guys.
    I'll see what he thinks about using the Lesonal. In reading the threads on this subject I gathered that it may be best to let the painter use the system that he uses day in and day out in order to get his best results.