Thread: Used 911 Story

Used 911 Story

I'm really enjoying this forum and learning a lot. I'm a little confused though. I've had the used 911 story book for years and always thought of it as the gospel when it comes to air cooled 911's. Zimmerman seems to think the 72's and early 73's are not very desirable, but the market doesn't seem to reflect this. I am finally in a position to afford an early 911 and want to get the best year (if there is such a thing). Any thoughts on his comments, and any help picking out a year would be very helpful.

I am far from an expert, but I have had both...a 72 T and a 68 SWB. The SWB is by far a funner (is that a word?) car to drive for me, but a little rough on the road. MY 72 was a little bit of a Toad, but went down the Highway at a mucher smoother and more comfortable pace.

From Webster's:

fun (adj)

sometimes fun·ner; sometimes fun·nest

Definition of FUN

1: providing entertainment, amusement, or enjoyment <a fun party> <a fun person to be with>

Peter Kane

'72 911S Targa
    Message Board Co-Moderator - Early 911S Registry #100

old softie67S
    72 and 73 911's are anything but undesirable. Some may prefer other years and there have been many a thread with board members expressing their prefrences and the reasons why. Try to drive several years and models before you leap. Good luck on your search.
    Tom

67S soft rear window
    60 356 Cab
    70 914-6 3.2 short stroke twin plug
    05 Audi S4 Cabrio (commuter)
    05 Audi Alroad (family driver)
    Aprilia SR 50R (Sanibel scoot)

Best of luck in your search. The "best" year is really up to personal preference. Look at the options and build (vented rotors, MFI vs carbs, 901 vs 915 etc.) available for the years you are interested in and combine that with the design aesthetic you like (how much chrome etc). I used to own a hot rodded SWB and currently drive a '73. Both amazingly FUN cars and more enjoyable than anything post-'73 for me.