Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bosch vs. MSD

Bosch vs. MSD

It looks like I need to replace the ignition control unit on my 72 911S. I currently have what I believe is the original Bosch unit.

The mechanic's recommendation is moving to a MSD 6AL. I've done a bit of research and it seem like the 6AL/6AL-2 may perform better/last longer, and is potentially less expensive - which is the basis of his recommendation. On the other hand, there there are multiple places that look competent in rebuilding for not too much more.

My goal is to preserve originality where possible and where I don't materially compromise performance/reliability, and given that it looks like people have had good experience with rebuilt Bosch CDIs, I'm leaning that way.

I'm 95% a street driver, and put a couple thousand miles on it per year.

I'm still learning about the early 911s and so I'd appreciate the views of those of you who have experience on this topics:
    1) Given my goals would you recommend going with the MSD or rebuilt Bosch?
    2) Any experience with the different shops that offer rebuilding? As a default I"d probably go with Pelican given their commitment to pcars.

www.ottosvenice.com
    www.ecudoctors.com
    and pelican

Thanks Ted

I would go with the Bosch. They have lasted 40 years or more on some cars and they put out a nice high power spark. MSD has an advantage with more power and more sparks at low revs to burn richer mixtures, but if you drive reasonably spiritedly and have the MFI in proper tune (particularly the thermostat) the Bosch should be just as good as the MSD, and it looks better.
    1971 911S, 2.7RS spec MFI engine, suspension mods, lightened
    Early 911S Registry Member #425

It's been my experience that MSD boxes are fragile. Voltage spikes will kill them. Cross firing wires will kill them. Heat will kill them.