Thread: Best workshop manuals or books for a new 1965 911 owner to obtain?

Best workshop manuals or books for a new 1965 911 owner to obtain?

Hey guys,

I'm completely new to Porsche's and just bought a dune buggy with a 1965 911 drivetrain in it. I need to get some books to help me with understanding the mechanics of the 911, maintenance, up keep, diagnostics, repairs, etc. Since my drivetrain is an all stock 1965, books and manuals that specifically deal with nuances of the Solex carb system, center lube cams, Nadella u-joint style axles/drive shafts, etc. would be especially helpful. I don't want to waste money buying books that won't help me so your recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Scotty
    Last edited by Scotty; 08-22-2011 at 07:28 AM.

Out of the books I have, which are the Factory workshop manual (for models '65-72ish), the Intereurope manual and another whose name I can't remember (by Hill I think), the Factory workshop manual is hands down the best. The dune buggy throws a bit of a wrench in there, since you don't need the specifics on the interior or body. Most of that is in Vol II, though. It's possible that Vol I (which covers the engine, trans, and most mechanical things) could have most of the information you need. Expect to pay around $200, give or take, for a workshop manual.
    Von Whitley
    Los Alamos, NM
    1968 Polo Red coupe (under reconstruction)
    1968 Metallic Silver SWT (under reconstruction)
    Registry number: 2016

Thanks Rotmilky,

I'm on the lookout for a factory manual.

Anybody have any comments on the following books:

1) Haynes Porsche 911 Coupe & Targa 1965-1989, Owner's Workshop Manual

2) Clymer Porsche 911 Coupe & Targa 1965-1989, Owner's Workshop Manual

3) How to Rebuild & Modify Porsche 911 Engines, 1965-1989 by Wayne R. Dempsey

4) Porsche 911 Performance Handbook (Third Edition) by Bruce Anderson

5) Porsche 911, 1964-1969, Owners Workshop Manual by Autobooks

6) Porsche Service Manual by Bently