Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wood Wheel variations and values

Wood Wheel variations and values

I recently read a thread where someone referenced an alloy spoke wheel selling for 9,500 Euros!!!! Holy smoke! I have owned over the years various wood wheels with steel spokes which sold in the 6 to 8 hundred range. These are the common wood wheels. It seems there are two alloy versions, one with the alloy showing around the circumference of the wheel and one not showing? Which is the earlier wheel and which is the more valuable version?? Thanks guys.

Don

Don, I'm not an expert, I had just noted the wheel at auction and the price it fetched. It sold for 10,500 Euro. Here's the one picture they posted and the English version of the listing text:

PORSCHE original steering wheel , aluminum/wood, manufacturer VDM, 42 cm in diameter, (was only fitted in racing cars or avaiable as rally-special accessories), very light (920 g compared to a normal steering wheel 2.5 kg), as good as new (war noch not fitted)
    Name:  lenkrad.jpg
Views: 381
Size:  15.5 KB

Aluminum survivors are rare. Mainly because not many were made but also because most of them broke and were replaced. Just about all of the ones that I've seen used on the road had cracks or welds...or broken completely. Not necessarily the best wheel for daily driving. IMHO But great to look at and hold.
    Some of the ones lately that I have been asked to look at were steel. The owners thought they were alloy because the hub was alloy.
    H

Don
    I can't believe what you are saying. Where was this advert please?
    I have an aluminium wheel like the picture above and can confirm it weighs about 940 gms. The black aluminium spokes seem to continue into the wooden rim and are exposed (but as a gold colour rather than black) on the inside of the rim but not visible on the outside of the rim.

Regards
    Mike

Edit are you sure it wasn't 950 euros?
    Last edited by 210bhp; 11-17-2011 at 01:00 PM.