Thread: P & S camera

P & S camera

I'm about to pull the trigger on a new P & S camera and I'm considering either the Leica D Lux 5 or the new Fujifilm X10. I know there are cheaper options out there but I'm attracted to the retro design, size and build quality of both. Does anyone here have first hand experience with either one?

Thanks
    JEFF BRINTON
    ESR #1572
    1968 911N
    1974 914 2.0L
    2023 Macan
    SOLD - 1967 911N / 1968 911L / 1967 911N / 1969 912 / 1991 964 C2 / 2013 991.1 / 2008 987 Cayman

Jeff,

I've been using a D-Lux-4 for a couple of years now and have been completely satisfied with it.............except for one thing: its lens is "only" a 24-60mm optical only zoom, (no electronic zoom ) and for a large portion of automotive shots I like to take, well, that just wasn't sufficient. Mind you though, the image quality that little camera delivers is quite astounding. Bought a D-Lux 5 a few months ago to get the benefit of the new and improved ( how I despise that phrase ) 24-90 zoom and was very happy with it. Sharp images, excellent color fidelity, good ISO performance up to about 800, very intuitive to use & handle.........but, at the end of the day, still a D-4 essentially, with a bit more reach. If the D-Lux-5 is the one that rings your bell, ( the D-Lux-4 has been discontinued ) I suggest that you will want to equip the D5 with the optional Leica grip and the Panasonic electronic viewfinder. It makes the whole arrangement that much more flexible and easier to compose & use. Unlike the cameras, where there are other, significant differences, the viewfinder merely has the red Leica logo on it and is much more than the absolutely identical Panasonic part.